Port Security Committees


This Inter-Ministerial Committee is established between the Ministry of Justice and the Ministry for Transport and Infrastructure. Amongst other duties, the Committee shall advice the designated authority and the competent authorities on the development, maintenance and promotion of an effective system of maritime security (seaports, ships and related matters) pertaining to all relevant security regulations and directives.

The Ministry for Transport and Infrastructure shall appoint the NMSC with the following members:

Minister for Maritime Transport (Chairman)
Permanent Secretary (Vice Chairman)
Commissioner of Police
Commander of Armed Forces of Malta
Comptroller of Customs
Authority Officials
Director of Civil Protection (Fire & Rescue)

-Maritime Security Compliance Monitoring Unit (Ports)
Prof. David Attard
Tel: +356 2291 4561
Mob: +356 7943 4320
E.mail: david.d.attard@transport.gov.mt

Port Security Working Groups

There are currently two working groups established for each area that has port facilities within its boundaries, that is the Port of Valletta and the Port of Marsaxlokk.

Members consist of representatives from the following groups:

Transport Malta (PSO)
Port Facility Security Officers (PFSO)
Local Police / Immigration (Representative)
Armed Forces of Malta
Customs (Representative)
Port Workers (PSPSO)
Ship / Cargo Agents (Representtive)
Tugs, pilots, mooring men (PSPSO)

The coordinator for these two Committees is Mr. Patrick Pollacco.