Skip to main content

Statutory Information

Road Infrastructure Safety Management

Directive 2008/96/EC of 19 November 2008 on road infrastructure safety management, states that Member States shall ensure that the ranking of hgih accident concentration sections and the network safety ranking are carried out on the basis of reviews, at least every 3 years, of the operaton of the road more

The European Electronic Toll Service (EETS) 

The European Electronic Toll Service (EETS) will ensure interoperability of tolling services on the entire European Union road network. EETS will enable road users to easily pay tolls throughout the whole EU with only one subscription contract with one service provider and a single on-board unit. By limiting cash transactions at toll stations and eliminating cumbersome procedures for occasional users, EETS will facilitate daily operations for road users, improve traffic flow and reduce congestion.


ETS domain means a toll domain falling under the scope of Directive 2004/52/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 29 April 2004 on the interoperability of electronic road toll systems in the Community. EETS Provider means a legal entity fulfilling the requirements of Article 3 of the Commission Decision 2009/750/EC and registered in a Member State where it is established, which grants access to EETS to an EETS User.

According to Article 19 of the Commission Decision 2009/750/EC of 6 October 2009 on the definition of the European Electronic Toll Service and it’s technical elements each Member State shall keep a national electronic register of the following:

  • the EETS domains within their territory, including information relating to:
    • the corresponding Toll Chargers,
    • the tolling technologies employed,
    • the Toll Context Data,
    • the EETS domain statement,
    • the EETS Providers having EETS contracts with the Toll Chargers active in their area of competence.

Member State shall enter modifications to the Toll Chargers register, including where applicable the date of their entry into force, immediately after these modifications have been adopted, taking into account Annex VI(3) and (4);

  • the EETS Providers to whom it has granted registration according to Article 3.

Unless otherwise specified, Member States shall verify at least once a year that requirements (a), (d), (e) and (f) in Article 3 and Article 4(2) are still met and update the register accordingly. The register shall also contain the conclusions of the audit foreseen in Article 3(e). A Member State shall not be held liable for the actions of the EETS Providers mentioned in its register.

  • Member States shall take all necessary measures to ensure that all the data contained in the national electronic register is kept up-to-date and is accurate.
  • The registers shall be electronically accessible to the public.
  • These registers shall be available within 9 months of the entry into force of this Decision.
  • The Member States authorities in charge of the registers shall communicate by electronic means to their counterparts in the other Member States and the Commission the registers of EETS domains and EETS Providers at the end of each calendar year. Any inconsistencies with the situation in a Member State shall be brought to the attention of the Member State of registration and of the Commission.

For more information you may wish to view the Guide for the Application of the Directive on the Interoperability of Electronic Road Toll Systems (pdf, 2011, 404kb)

The application to register as a European Electronic Toll Service (EETS) Provider can be found here

Current Situation in Malta

Registered EETS Domains
There are no EETS Domains in Malta

Registered EETS Providers
No EETS Providers have been registered in Malta

Information will be updated when an EETS Domain or an EETS Provider is registered in Malta. Transport Malta, under the Ministry for Transport and Infrastructure of the Republic of Malta, will register this information on this site.

Last Updated: 8th March 2011.