



NEW EMISSION CONTROL AREAS IN CHINA

Merchant Shipping Notice 126

Notice to Shipowners, Ship Operators, Managers, Masters, Owners' Representatives and Recognised Organisations

The Merchant Shipping Directorate would like to draw the attention of all concerned to the establishment of three emission control areas in the People's Republic of China.

As from 1 January 2016 the ports in the emission control areas located in Zhujiang (Pearl River) Delta, Yangtze River Delta and the Bohai Sea may require vessels to use fuel oil with a sulphur content not exceeding 0.5% m/m, or equivalent emission reduction measures when at a berth. Other emission reduction measures may also be required.

Maltese ships calling at these ports are therefore advised to contact their local agents prior to arrival to enquire of any particular local emission reduction requirements in the three new emission control areas.

Furthermore, strict enforcement of the existing international conventions and domestic laws and regulations on sulphur oxides, particulate matter and nitrogen oxides is envisaged. In this regard, it is understood that, as from 1 January 2016, particularly inspection of IAPP certificate, oil record book, bunker delivery note and check of fuel quality would be enhanced in order to ensure strict implementation of the relevant requirements. Maltese ships are therefore reminded to ensure that they are fully compliant with the applicable requirements.

It is also brought to the attention of all concerned that as from 1 January 2017 ships at a berth in a key port (excluding 1 hour after anchorage and 1 hour before departure) within the said emission control areas are to use fuel oil with a sulphur content not exceeding 0.5% m/m, or equivalent emission reduction measures. Moreover, as from 1 January 2018, during the period of berthing at all ports within the ECAs, ships should use fuel with a sulphur content of no more than 0.5% m/m. From 1 January 2019 ships which operate in the designated areas, will be obliged to use fuel containing less than 0.5% sulphur.

The maps delineating the emission control areas and the affected ports may be found in the Annex.

Merchant Shipping Directorate

24 December 2015

Malta Transport Centre Marsa, MRS 1917 Malta

Tel: +356 2125 0360 Fax: +356 2124 1460 Email: mershipmalta.tm@transport.gov.mt www.transport.gov.mt/ship-registration



Merchant Shipping Directorate ISO 9001:2008 certified





tm Transport Malta

Pearl River Delta ECA



- Sea boundaries: the sea area within the lines connecting the points of A, B, C, D, E and F (excluding the waters of Hong Kong and Macau) as sketched above. Point A: The Shoreline junction point of Huizhou and Shanwei Point B: 12 nautical miles away from Zhentouyan Point C: 12 nautical miles away from Jiapeng Archipelago Point D: 12 nautical miles away from Weijia Island Point E: 12 nautical miles away from Dafanshi Island Point F: The Shoreline junction point of Jiangmen and Yangjiang
- Inland water areas: navigable inland waters under administrative jurisdiction of 9 cities including Guangzhou, Dongguan, Huizhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai, Zhongshan, Foshan, Jiangmen and Zhaoqing.
- Key ports: Shenzhen, Guangzhou and Zhuhai.

Malta Transport Centre Marsa, MRS 1917 Malta

Tel: +356 2125 0360 Fax: +356 2124 1460 Email: mershipmalta.tm@transport.gov.mt www.transport.gov.mt/ship-registration



Merchant Shipping Directorate ISO 9001:2008 certified



Merchant Shipping Directorate

Yangtze River Delta ECA





- Sea boundaries: the sea area within the lines connecting the points of A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I and J.
 - Point A: The Shoreline junction point of Nantong and Yancheng Point B: 12 nautical miles away from Wai Ke Jiao Island Point C: 12 nautical miles away from Sheshan Island Point D: 12 nautical miles away from HaiJiao Point E: 12nautical miles away from Southeast Reef Point F: 12nautical miles away from Two Brothers Reef Point G: 12 nautical miles away from Yushan Archipelago Point H: 12 nautical miles away from Taizhou Islands (2) Point I: 12 nautical miles away from junction point of shoreline of Taizhou and shoreline of Wenzhou

Point J: Junction point of shoreline of Taizhou and shoreline of Wenzhou

- Inland water areas: navigable waters under the administrative jurisdiction of 15 cities including Nanjing, Zhenjiang, Yangzhou, Taizhou, Nantong, Changzhou, Wuxi, Suzhou, Shanghai, Jiaxing, Huzhou, Hangzhou, Shaoxing, Ningbo, Zhoushan and Taizhou.
- Key ports: Shanghai, Ningbo-Zhoushan, Suzhou, Nantong.

Malta Transport Centre Marsa, MRS 1917 Malta

Tel: +356 2125 0360 Fax: +356 2124 1460 Email: mershipmalta.tm@transport.gov.mt www.transport.gov.mt/ship-registration



Merchant Shipping Directorate ISO 9001:2008 certified



Merchant Shipping Directorate

Bohai Sea ECA





- Sea boundaries: the sea area within lines connecting the junction point of shorelines of Dandong, Dalian and shorelines of Yantai, Weihai.
- Inland water areas: navigable inland waters under the administrative jurisdiction of 13 cities including Dalian, Yingkou, Panjin, Jinzhou, Huludao, Qinghuangdao, Tangshan, Tianjin, Cangzhou, Binzhou, Dongying, Weifang, Yantai.
- Key ports: Tianjin, Qinhuangdao, Tangshan and Huanghua.



Malta Transport Centre Marsa, MRS 1917 Malta

Tel: +356 2125 0360 Fax: +356 2124 1460 Email: mershipmalta.tm@transport.gov.mt www.transport.gov.mt/ship-registration