SUBSIDIARY LEGISLATION 234.18

SAFETY CONVENTION ORDER

7th November, 1986

LEGAL NOTICE 63 of 1986.

- 1. The title of this Order is the Safety Convention Order.
- Title.

2. It is hereby declared that -

Convention countries or territories.

- (a) the Governments of the countries specified in Part I of the First Schedule have accepted or acceded to or ratified or approved the International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea, 1974, and that the said Convention has been extended to the territories specified in Part II of the said Schedule on the date shown against each country or territory;
- (b) the Governments of the countries es specified in Part I of the Second Schedule have accepted or acceded to or ratified or approved the Protocol of 1978 relating to the International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea, 1974, and that the said Protocol has been extended to the territories specified in Part II of the said Schedule on the date shown against each country or territory.

FIRST SCHEDULE

Part I

Country	Date
Monaco	1 November 1974
Ukranian SSR	1 November 1974
India	16 June 1976
Norway	15 February 1977
Mexico	28 March 1977
Tonga	12 April 1977
Cape Verde	28 April 1977
France	25 May 1977
United Kingdom	7 October 1977
Liberia	14 November 1977
Denmark	8 March 1978
Panama	9 March 1978
Canada	8 May 1978
Sweden	7 July 1978
Netherlands	10 July 1978

Country	Date
Spain	5 September 1978
United States	7 September 1978
Trinidad	15 February 1979
Bahamas	16 February 1979
Yemen	6 March 1979
German Democratic Republic	15 March 1979
Federal Republic of Germany	26 March 1979
Urugway	30 April 1979
Israel	15 May 1979
Romania	24 May 1979
Yugoslavia	11 June 1979
Kuwait	29 June 1979
Belgium	24 September 1979
Peru	4 December 1979
Argentina	5 December 1979
China	7 January 1980
USSR	9 January 1980
Hungary	9 January 1980
Chile	28 March 1980
Dominican Republic	10 April 1980
Greece	12 May 1980
Japan	15 May 1980
Brazil	22 May 1980
South Africa	23 May 1980
Italy	11 June 1980
Turkey	31 July 1980
Tunisia	6 August 1980
Czechoslovakia	18 August 1980
Colombia	31 October 1980
Papua New Guinea	12 November 1980
Finland	21 November 1980
Qatar	22 December 1980
Republic of Korea	31 December 1980
Maldives	14 January 1981
Guinea	19 January 1981
Indonesia	17 February 1981
Singapore	16 March 1981
Nigeria	7 May 1981
Libyan Arab Jamahiriya	2 July 1981
Egypt	4 September 1981
Switzerland	1 October 1981

Country	Date
Bangladesh	6 November 1981
Philippines	15 December 1982
Gabon	21 January 1982
Ecuador	28 May 1982
Vanuatu	28 July 1982
Barbados	1 September 1982
Guatemala	20 October 1982
Fiji	4 March 1983
Venezuela	29 March 1983
Ghana	19 May 1983
Iceland	6 July 1983
Australia	17 August 1983
Sri Lanka	30 August 1983
Jamaica	14 October 1983
Malaysia	19 October 1983
Saint Vincent and Grenadines	28 October 1983
Bulgaria	2 November 1983
Algeria	3 November 1983
Portugal	7 November 1983
Lebanon	29 November 1983
Ireland	29 November 1983
United Arab Emirates	13 December 1983
Djibouti	1 March 1984
Poland	15 March 1984
Cameroon	14 May 1984
Thailand	18 December 1984
Pakistan	10 April 1985
Saudi Arabia	24 April 1985
Oman	25 April 1985
Democratic People's Republic of Korea	1 May 1985
Ethiopia	18 July 1985
Jordan	7 August 1985
Tuvalu	22 August 1985
Congo	10 September 1985
Honduras	24 September 1985
Cyprus	11 October 1985
Bahrain	21 October 1985
Benin	1 November 1985
Part II	
Hong Kong	25 May 1980
Isle of Man	1 July 1985

Aruba

Country Date Netherlands Antilles 10 July 1978 I January 1986

SECOND SCHEDULE

Part I

Date Country Bahamas 16 February 1979 Uruguay 30 April 1979 Kuwait 29 June 1979 Belgium 24 September 1979 United Kingdom 5 November 1979 21 December 1979 Sweden France 21 December 1979 Spain 30 April 1979 15 May 1980 Japan Federal Republic of Germany 6 June 1980 Netherlands 8 July 1980 Tunisia 6 August 1980 **United States** 12 August 1980 Liberia 28 October 1980 Columbia 31 October 1980 Yugoslavia 31 October 1980 Denmark 27 November 1980 Norway 25 March 1981 Finland 30 April 1981 **USSR** 12 May 1981 Libyan Arab Jamahiriya 2 July 1981 Greece 17 July 1981 Israel 21 August 1981 South Africa 11 January 1982 Hungary 3 February 1982 Argentina 24 February 1982 Switzerland 1 April 1982 Panama 14 July 1982 Peru 16 July 1982 Vanuatu 28 July 1982 Italy 1 October 1982 Republic of Korea 2 December 1982 China 17 December 1982 German Democratic Republic 28 April 1983 Ghana 19 May 1983

Country	Date
Czechoslovakia	2 June 1983
Mexico	30 June 1983
Iceland	6 July 1983
Australia	17 August 1983
Malaysia	19 October 1983
Bulgaria	2 November 1983
Algeria	3 November 1983
Portugal	7 November 1983
Lebanon	29 November 1983
Ireland	29 November 1983
United Arab Emirates	15 December 1983
Poland	15 March 1984
Barbados	29 May 1984
Singapore	1 June 1984
Nigeria	13 November 1984
Pakistan	10 April 1985
Oman	25 April 1985
Democratic People's Republic of Korea	1 May 1985
Honduras	24 September 1985
Cyprus	11 October 1985
Brazil	20 November 1985
Ethiopia	3 January 1986
India	3 April 1986
Egypt	7 August 1986
Part II	
Hong Kong	25 November 1981
Isle of Man	1 July 1985
Netherlands Antilles	8 July 1980

Netherlands Antilles 8 July 1980 1 January 1986 Aruba